“There are many optical microscopy and photonics conferences out there. So do we really need another one?

I feel that we do and that there is a distinct need for a specialized super-resolution microscopy conference, especially after the 2014 Nobel-prizes. In this sense, the creation of ICON in 2015 was timely”

Markus Sauer

1st chair of ICON (2016), University of Würzburg

What is ICON?

ICON is intended as a specialized platform in which scientists, both developers and users, engineers, and manufacturers can meet to present the latest developments and applications, to discuss caveats and potential problems, to develop novel ideas, and forge new and strengthen existing collaborations.


Currently ICON focuses on fluorescence-based super-resolution microscopy (SRM) and its application in scientific research and takes place every 2 years. In the future an alternating timeline may be possible in which a fluorescence-based SRM ICON alternates with an ICON that focuses on label-free and white light SRM.

See also the conference reports in Nature Photonics:                     



                                                                                                        Report1                          Report2



Local Organizers

Christian Eggeling
Lothar Schermelleh
Rainer Heintzmann

Friedrich Schiller University

Leibniz IPHT


Biochemistry Department

University of Oxford

(United Kingdom)

Friedrich Schiller University

Leibniz IPHT


Series Organizers

Gregor Drummen

Conference Series Organizer


Exxilon Scientific Events (Germany)


Advanced BioImaging

Bio&Nano Solutions


Conference Assistant (TBD)

Exxilon Scientific Events (Germany)



Markus Sauer
Oliver Biehlmaier
Christian Eggeling
Alberto Diaspro
Sara Abrahamsson

Theodor Boveri Institute
University of Würzburg (Germany)

Imaging Core Facility Biozentrum 
Basel University (Switzerland)

Friedrich Schiller University

Leibniz IPHT


Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia Genoa


Jack Baskin School of Engineering, University of California Santa Cruz (USA)

Erik Manders
Lothar Schermelleh
Ulrike Endesfelder
Joerg Bewersdorf
Thomas Huser




Department of Biochemistry

University of Oxford


MPI Terrestrial Microbiology and SYNMIKRO Marburg (Germany)

Department of Cell Biology
Yale University

Biomolecular Photonics University of Bielefeld (Germany)

Ilaria Testa

SciLifeLab, KTH Royal Institute of Technology


Peter McCourt
Hari Shroff
Lydia Danglot
Peter Dedecker

Vascular Biology Research Group, The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø (Norway)

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (USA)

NeurImag Imaging Facility
Inserm U894 Paris


Lab for Nanobiology
University of Leuven


Edoardo Charbon
Kseniya Korobchevskaya

Dept. of Microelectronics
Delft University of Technology (Netherlands)

Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience

CERVO Brain Research


Kennedy Institute for Rheumatology

University of Oxford




© 2019 by eXXilon Scientific.
Proudly created with Wix.com



Kai Str. 47, NRW 33803, Steinhagen, GERMANY

 info (at) exxilon-scientific.com

 +49 (0)5204 9277463

Conference Office

Postal address:  


  • Research gate